Living the “Sheltered” Life

When I was in high school, I was known as the innocent little sheltered girl who didn’t understand anything beyond the basics about the real world. Let me just point out now that this was in a private, CHRISTIAN high school. Now I know that private schools aren’t exactly too different from public ones, except for the lack of fund-cutting and teachers who couldn’t care less about what their students do or don’t do in or out of class, but I would still expect better of students from a Christian school who claim to themselves be Christian.

From the shows and movies they watched to the music they listened to, and even to the things they knew, I always felt on the outside because I was almost never exposed to it. That fact got me called sheltered a lot.

I will tell you now, I am far from sheltered. I knew a kid who was sheltered, and I am nowhere close to him; his mother only let him watch ancient black and white films that she approved of, and don’t get me started on the rules she made for him. I have actually seen movies with violence, I know most of the usual cuss words (not that I’d use them), and I am aware of the general obsession of the adult public . . . all in time.

Unlike some kids’, my parents actually loved and care for me enough to steer me away from things that weren’t appropriate for my age like slasher flicks and TV shows or movies where all people seem to care about is getting naked with each other. So what’s the excuse for my current ignorance? Choice.

That’s right, people, I actually have a conscience and self-control enough to say no to many of the unwholesome things our world has to offer lately. Yes, you could probably argue that I’m a “mama’s girl” for more or less following the general guidelines set down by my parent’s when I was still a minor, but that’s my choice. I choose to not watch, read, hear, or otherwise be exposed to such things as Miley Cyrus’s latest plummet in character, or which celebrity is cheating with whatever person, or most of Lady Gaga’s music for that matter.

Just because I do not know the latest street names for drugs or what questionable activities public high school kids are getting up to these days does not mean that I am sheltered; it means that I have standards, boundaries, and enough self-respect and spiritual-integrity to avoid these things whenever possible.

I would like to retain what shreds of innocence I have left for as long as I can. If you don’t like that, too bad.

Start a conversation~...

