To Insult a Man . . .

Have you ever noticed that Yo’ Mama jokes are everywhere? Heck, they even have an app for it . . . several apps. It’s terrible! To be fair, I’ll say this now, a lot of them are rather creative, and do raise a chuckle from me from time to time. I’m not proud of this, and quickly feel saddened by both the joke and myself.

The Yo’ Mama joke has become a rather odd piece of humour. While at it’s heart it is meant for insult, I’ve heard boys use it as simple bonding, and even as a contest. The end game is, who can make the funniest joke about how the other’s mother is fat or ugly or such a whore.

I find this to be yet another example of a horrible disease I call the “mis-directed insult”. The point of a Yo’ Mama joke is to get a rise out of someone else (usually a boy) by making them feel insulted through an insult actually aimed at that person’s mother, and it’s not the only kind of mis-directed insult out there.

If you take a look at all the common and default insults people have for women you will undoubtedly find that they are all, without fail, directed solely at said woman (unless, of course, it is an insult directed towards all woman-kind, but my point still stands). If you take a look at all the common, default insults for men (and I just mean the insults specifically tailored for men, not the gender neutral insults), they are really all aimed at those men’s mothers, with little to no direct insult towards the man in question.

Call a man an SOB, that means his mother is a whore. Call him a bastard, again his mother’s a slut. It would seem that those who come up with, and use, such insults are hellbent on turning all mothers, and possibly all women, into unfaithful, idiotic, and even demonic beings unworthy of the respect that they really should be getting.

What I want to know is “why?” Why do people feel the need to indirectly insult a man by insulting his mother? Why does society let this slide? Why do such immature and, quite frankly, stupid tactics actually succeed in getting a rise out of those who would use the same terms in a heartbeat? I cannot say that I know because a) I’m not male, and b) I respect mothers for the fact that they have taken on one of the most demanding and time-consuming jobs on the planet and still find it in themselves to wake up in the morning.

Now I will admit that there are mothers out there who are less than stellar, to say the least, and a good deal of them should not even be mothers in the first place, just watch any reality show that follows a family’s day-to-day life and you’ll find one. However there are also great mothers who wake up early every morning to make breakfast for their children and pack a healthy, delicious lunch for them to bring to school, and they deserve every ounce of respect and admiration you have in you, and even more. Those women are superheroes without capes.

My own mother raised my brother and I all on her own after our father walked out on us, and even before that if you were to be really honest. She taught us how to walk, how to read, how to swim. She took us places, tucked us in at night, and told me when my clothes were too small and needed to be replaced or when I put together an outfit that did not look good in the slightest. She even made our clothes herself for a time, and clothes for my dolls too! If anyone ever dared to imply that my mother was anything less than amazing, I would put their lights out, plain and simple.

The point of this rather long post is a simple one, we need to stop insulting people by insulting their mothers. The mother has nothing to do with your argument so leave her out of it, plain and simple.

Start a conversation~...

