Making ready for Christmas

Who else is excited for Christmas? I know I am! We’ve got our tree now, I’ve already started Christmas baking, and today we’ve finally gotten most of the house decorated. To make things feel even more festive, it even snowed the other day (though it’s all melted now).

Yesterday I tried making these German  marzipan cookies called bethmännchen.

They’re supposed to look like this (right) 250px-Bethmaennchen1but instead they looked like this (below). I’m not totally sure what it is I did wrong, but at least they still taste good.

IMG_1663

 

 

In the busting out of the Christmas decor, my mom also pulled out something she got a few

IMG_1665

years ago, but none of us have ever been able to get to work. I can’t remember what it’s called, but the idea is that when the fins are at a certain angle, lighting the candles is supposed to make it spin. It has never spun for us. If anyone knows how to make this thing work, please let me know because we’ve tried everything.

I got a new story idea the other day. I probably won’t end up posting it here, but this means that I have yet another unfinished story to work on.

That’s all for now. I have to get to baking again, maybe I’ll put up some pics for you all later when that’s all said and done. Anyway, TTFN, SA out!

Start a conversation~...

