Before Sleep

I feel my heartbeat beneath my chest
A steady rhythm that lulls my mind
An organized chaos of music for only I to hear
It soothes my very soul

My thoughts whirl throughout my head
Lost and wandering within me
They tell me stories and build my fears
Multiplying themselves eternally

Breath in easy paces around my lungs
A soft rush of air that swirls before me
What storms does it create within
Or for the dust motes without?

Still I lay beneath the covers seeking warmth
Feet wrapped in a quilt and arm under the pillow
Attempting comfort on a cold night
A cat lays at my side

Calm rises over me like the tide
Moving slowly without notice
Until my eyes settle and breath slows
And my mind finds peace in dreams

Start a conversation~...

