Homemade Tastes best

Happy hearts day, everyone! I hope you and your significant other have had a good one. And for those of you are single, I hope you enjoyed your day of celebrating with single friends the joys of being single and not having to share your B&J’s ice cream.

Now, I’m not much of a Valentine’s enthusiast myself, being single and not seeing the point of having a specific day to appreciate your significant other, but I always relish an excuse to make treats for my co-workers.

Because it’s the great day of chocolates and roses, I decided to try my hand at making a chocolate recipe I found on youtube about a year or so back. It’s super simple and really really good (especially if you like dark chocolate). You can take a look at it here.

This is what the finished product looked like after my second attempt.

This is what the finished product looked like after my second attempt.

I more or less followed the recipe shown, but instead of the alcohol I added cinnamon, honey, and vanilla. Don’t ask me for the amounts because I did not measure. They turned out really good. Smooth and delicate, and they really melt in your mouth. I’d definitely recommend giving the recipe a try.

In other news, I saw a downy woodpecker in my yard yesterday. I don’t know why, but seeing birds in my yard other than the usual thrushes, chickadees, and sparrows gets me really excited. I was bouncing up and down like a little kid the entire time. They’re really little birds, too. Doesn’t he remind you of Woody Woodpecker a bit?

Downy Woodpecker chowing down at the suet feeder. Isn't he cute!

Downy Woodpecker chowing down at the suet feeder. Isn’t he cute!

Start a conversation~...

