Life Experience: Changing a tire

I had to change a tire on my car for the first time the other day. Turned out I’d driven for at least a day on a tire with no air in it whatsoever (I was wondering what that weird rumbling was). I’m glad for one thing, and that’s that my step-dad was there to help me out because I can never remember how to work the air compressor (or how to turn it on, at least).

The little adventure started with finding the car jack. In my car, it’s not in the back with the rest of the stuff. No, it’s under the driver’s seat. Why? I have no idea. From what I can tell, there’s plenty of room for the jack in the little back compartment, but apparently the designers didn’t think so.

After we found all the components, we had to get the car jacked up. Let me tell you, it’s not as easy as you might think. There is a LOT of twisting on the jack’s screw before it’s decently off the ground to actually begin removing the flat tire. Then you gotta get the bolts off the tire, which first requires removal of the hubcap. By the time we got the tire off, my step-dad says it’s a good idea to check if the spare has enough air in it.

It didn’t.

So off we went to the garage to fill up both tires and check to see if the flat was from a hole in the tire or if it had just been deflating. There was a hole. So, with the spare all brought up to pressure, on it went to my car. I spent two days driving around on that thing before I could get the real tire patched up.

Luckily, I have all my tires again. And I got my oil changed too, so hopefully there aren’t any more catastrophic happenings for the next few months.

One thought on “Life Experience: Changing a tire

  1. Kat_L says:

    Oh my! You certainly had your hands full. Glad to hear your step-dad was there to help. I remember when i was 13, twas the day i had to change a blown out tire of my audi. Yup, was where american cars would put em. Under the back seat that is, complete with the orange flags & emergency kits. I truly luv that car-

    Like

Start a conversation~...

