Well! Work today was an experience!

Everything was going fine at first. I went in early to do some cleaning like my boss asked. It wasn’t too busy today, which I like. I even managed to up-sell to a customer who’d originally planned to get only one thing, and she left happy too.

Then this one guys comes in. He seemed totally normal. Asked me how much a bag of peanut brittle was, bought some, and left. About thirty seconds later he comes back in wanting to return it because his wife texted him saying she’d also just bought a bag.

We don’t do refunds. We physically can’t do refunds; it’s not a function in the till. We aren’t even allowed to do it because of food safe regulations. I offered to exchange the bag for a bag of different kettle candy (technically we aren’t supposed to do this either, but I didn’t want him to leave upset or anything). He snaps at me that peanut brittle “is the only thing she likes”.

Okay, then.

He asks to see the manager. She isn’t there, but the cook comes out to handle things, since she could see what was going on, and people tend to listen to her more because the chef whites make her look more in-charge-ish. She explained to him very calmly and sweetly that we can’t do refunds and the manager wasn’t there, unfortunately there was nothing we could do.

This guy grabs the bag of peanut brittle and storms out of the store yelling and swearing at us. Not two minutes later, he comes back to yell at us some more, screaming about how he’s going to slam us all over social media.

Bear in mind, it’s like 4 in the afternoon at the local mall. There are other people around to hear this. And this guy is throwing a fit at us. We were scared. We were terrified. I’m still pretty shaken by this whole ordeal.

Thankfully, he didn’t come back, and my shift ended  about 20 minutes later. Security even checked around for him, to make sure he didn’t come back to harass us again. I still had to pause every couple minutes to take a deep breath. My hands were shaking and I couldn’t stop holding myself because I was so freaked out. I was very near tears at one point.

I am immensely grateful that I managed to drive home safely in that state.

I really hope we don’t see him again. Sadly, apparently he’s a regular customer at the store just across the way, so the possibility of seeing him again is rather too high for my liking.

I am so glad I don’t have work tomorrow.

Start a conversation~...

