I made cookies!

Honey Lavender Shortbread. I got the recipe from this blog here. They’re really really nice, especially if you’re a general fan of lavender. I’ve been on a bit of a lavender kick recently, and this recipe popped up when I google searched.

I did tweak the recipe a bit, though. I found the recipe as is to be a bit lacking in the sweet department, so I increased the sugar and honey measurements, and doubled the vanilla amount too because why not.

Also, I found that the time listed isn’t enough to make the cookies brown at the edges as the original poster said they should be, so I ended up adding another 5 minutes to the cook time until the cookies looked as they should.

In the end, the recipe ended up something more like this:

1/3 cup Sugar

1 1/2 tbsp Honey

1/2 cup Butter (or one stick if you can afford the fancy stuff)

1 1/2 tsp Lavender (roughly chopped)

1 Egg Yolk

2 tsp Vanilla (because shortbread can never have too much vanilla)

1 cup + 2 tbsp Flour

1/4 tsp Salt (I used Himalayan Pink, because that’s all we have in the house right now)

 

IMG_0802You mix it up using traditional cookie method. Beat the butter sugar and honey together, add the wet stuff and the lavender, then add the dry stuff once it’s all mixed. The original recipe said the dough would come out sticky, but that wasn’t an issue with me either of the times I tried it, it was just like normal shortbread dough.

I rolled my dough into a log with some parchment paper then chucked it into the fridge overnight, and baked the sliced rounds off in the morning. 350ºF for about 12-15 minutes in my convection oven.IMG_0861

I’m not sure why the recipe tweaks were needed, to be entirely honest, especially the oven one, but it’s not a huge difference.

They turn out to be a very nice cookie. Flavourful and not too flaky, and they go very nicely with tea. I bought some blackberry jam to spread on top, but they’re so nice on their own that I keep forgetting about it.

I’d say the fridge time is fairly necessary because it lets the lavendery-ness infuse into the dough, which is super important if you want lavender cookies.

Anyway, that’s what I’ve been up to lately. Well, that and writing a novel with a friend. (It’s almost done and I’m feeling really good about it. Gonna get it published too.)

I still have all this lavender sitting in my cupboard. Maybe I’ll try making warm lavender milk or something. Ooh, or icecream.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Start a conversation~...

